carl9170fw.git
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: update API to 1.8.0 1.8.0
Christian Lamparter [Wed, 4 Aug 2010 16:20:05 +0000 (18:20 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: update API to 1.8.0

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: integrate firmware descriptors
Christian Lamparter [Wed, 4 Aug 2010 16:09:34 +0000 (18:09 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: integrate firmware descriptors

Merge the USB firmware descriptor into OTAR.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: save a few bytes on the command handler 1.7.4
Christian Lamparter [Sun, 1 Aug 2010 13:15:34 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: save a few bytes on the command handler

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: add flag for asynchronous commands
Christian Lamparter [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 16:21:11 +0000 (18:21 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: add flag for asynchronous commands

This flag can be used by the application to tell _same_
application that it does not have to wait for the command
response, or it does not need to parse the received
response if the flag is set.

NOTE: The firmware does not care about this flag and
processes any received command in the same way.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: implement command sequence counter
Christian Lamparter [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 12:51:28 +0000 (14:51 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: implement command sequence counter

The sequence is useful to detect the loss of a command
response/trap.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: update API to 1.7.3 1.7.3
Christian Lamparter [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 08:06:28 +0000 (10:06 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: update API to 1.7.3

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: speedup handle_rx
Christian Lamparter [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:55:09 +0000 (23:55 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: speedup handle_rx

Thanks to the improved rx processing in the driver,
rx overruns should no longer happen that frequently.

Also, The overrun detection might not be triggered
in this code-path at all when the recv wlan queue
has run dry.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: move wlan_dma_bump
Christian Lamparter [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:52:36 +0000 (23:52 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: move wlan_dma_bump

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: fix array-out-of-bounds bug
Christian Lamparter [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:43:28 +0000 (23:43 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: fix array-out-of-bounds bug

This patch fixes an out-of-bounds access which would occur
if the driver sets queue to 6 or 7. Additionally, the
transmission status report has only reserved 2 bits for
reporting this information.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: allow fallback to non-aggregation xmit
Christian Lamparter [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:28:39 +0000 (23:28 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: allow fallback to non-aggregation xmit

This feature might come handy in future. Because aggregation
does not always work as smoothly as hoped. Furthermore,
the original firmware did something similar.

But be advised that once the aggregation for any particular
frame retry was disabled. It should remain disabled for all
following tries and not be enabled again.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: drop noise reading from channel switch response
Christian Lamparter [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:23:31 +0000 (23:23 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: drop noise reading from channel switch response

The driver manually queries the noise values anyway.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: update API to 1.7.2 1.7.2
Christian Lamparter [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 00:11:07 +0000 (02:11 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: update API to 1.7.2

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: use sudo to install firmware
Christian Lamparter [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 00:05:21 +0000 (02:05 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: use sudo to install firmware

Only a root-user can modify the files under /lib/firmware.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: streamline dma_put hot-path
Christian Lamparter [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 23:51:35 +0000 (01:51 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: streamline dma_put hot-path

This patch restores the original code-path in dma_put.
It no longer tries to correct the control flags for
all dma transfers.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: rename ^CARL*_MASK$ to ^CARL*$
Christian Lamparter [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 18:23:59 +0000 (20:23 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: rename ^CARL*_MASK$ to ^CARL*$

This synchronizes the usage of _MASK in HW defintions
with ath9k and other Atheros' drivers.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: introduce per-rate ER Protection setting
Christian Lamparter [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 18:07:37 +0000 (20:07 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: introduce per-rate ER Protection setting

Previously, the firmware has applied (or rather has stuck)
with the ERP settings of the first rate for all retry rates.
This is now history and the driver can choose between
different ERP settings for each individual retry rate.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: update README 1.7.1
Christian Lamparter [Wed, 21 Jul 2010 19:24:29 +0000 (21:24 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: update README

the README should include a list of all necessary
tools and libraries to build the firmware.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: checkpatch fixes
Christian Lamparter [Wed, 21 Jul 2010 19:21:34 +0000 (21:21 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: checkpatch fixes

Since the shared headers are meant to be included
into the kernel, they should pass checkpatch.pl
without generating hundreds of WARNINGS.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
9 years agocarl9170 firmware: import 1.7.0 1.7.0
Christian Lamparter [Mon, 19 Jul 2010 23:16:34 +0000 (01:16 +0200)]
carl9170 firmware: import 1.7.0

The carl9170 project aims to provide more than just a
working substitute firmware+driver for Atheros' AR9170
USB solutions.

Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>