open-adventure.git
3 years agoEliminated bivalve function. 206/head
Aaron Traas [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 13:55:02 +0000 (09:55 -0400)]
Eliminated bivalve function.

Reason: only called in lock(), you can't be TOTING a clam, you can't
have the trident at a carryable oyster, and the code IMHO is more
readable this way.

3 years agoState-arithmetic elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 13:17:20 +0000 (09:17 -0400)]
State-arithmetic elimination.

3 years agoGrammar fix.
Eric S. Raymond [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 13:03:42 +0000 (09:03 -0400)]
Grammar fix.

3 years agoDrinking not from stream gets the same result 205/head
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 11:43:17 +0000 (14:43 +0300)]
Drinking not from stream gets the same result

3 years agoworkaround for eat grate bug in retrospective tests
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 08:02:58 +0000 (11:02 +0300)]
workaround for eat grate bug in retrospective tests

3 years agoUnspk'd chain action
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 12:16:36 +0000 (15:16 +0300)]
Unspk'd chain action

3 years agolinearized drink
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 11:38:43 +0000 (14:38 +0300)]
linearized drink

3 years agolinearized extinguish
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 11:33:30 +0000 (14:33 +0300)]
linearized extinguish

3 years agoUnspk'd and restructured fill
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 10:58:00 +0000 (13:58 +0300)]
Unspk'd and restructured fill

3 years agoPartial cleanup of fill
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 10:28:00 +0000 (13:28 +0300)]
Partial cleanup of fill

3 years agoRemoved magic from checks for liquids
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 10:04:04 +0000 (13:04 +0300)]
Removed magic from checks for liquids

3 years agoUnspk'd find
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 08:49:02 +0000 (11:49 +0300)]
Unspk'd find

3 years agoUnspk'd inventory lookup
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 08:37:30 +0000 (11:37 +0300)]
Unspk'd inventory lookup

3 years agoUnspk'd lock, cleaned up logic
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 08:30:39 +0000 (11:30 +0300)]
Unspk'd lock, cleaned up logic

3 years agoCleaned up unused variables
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 08:15:10 +0000 (11:15 +0300)]
Cleaned up unused variables

3 years agoUnspk'd Giant Words
NHOrus [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 08:12:38 +0000 (11:12 +0300)]
Unspk'd Giant Words

3 years agoAnother use of state_change().
Eric S. Raymond [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 12:16:10 +0000 (08:16 -0400)]
Another use of state_change().

3 years agoAnother use of state_change() and changes messages.
Eric S. Raymond [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 11:59:20 +0000 (07:59 -0400)]
Another use of state_change() and changes messages.

3 years agoYAML cleanup.
Eric S. Raymond [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 11:39:07 +0000 (07:39 -0400)]
YAML cleanup.

3 years agoBegin replacing tests on strings with tests on vocab IDs. 204/head
Jason S. Ninneman [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 01:21:25 +0000 (18:21 -0700)]
Begin replacing tests on strings with tests on vocab IDs.

3 years agoUpgrade get_vocab_id() to handle empty strings.
Jason S. Ninneman [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 17:37:44 +0000 (10:37 -0700)]
Upgrade get_vocab_id() to handle empty strings.

3 years agoImplement and document new state-label syntax.
Eric S. Raymond [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 00:27:56 +0000 (20:27 -0400)]
Implement and document new state-label syntax.

3 years agoComment polishing.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 23:26:32 +0000 (19:26 -0400)]
Comment polishing.

3 years agoDiscard implementation of %L and %U format specifiers, now never used.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 22:40:06 +0000 (18:40 -0400)]
Discard implementation of %L and %U format specifiers, now never used.

3 years agoReducing use of dynamic allocation forecloses many errors.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 21:53:25 +0000 (17:53 -0400)]
Reducing use of dynamic allocation forecloses many errors.

3 years agoInformation hiding.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 21:21:06 +0000 (17:21 -0400)]
Information hiding.

3 years agoSimplify tokenization code.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 21:13:28 +0000 (17:13 -0400)]
Simplify tokenization code.

3 years agoEntirely eliminate wd1x and wd2x members of the command block.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 20:49:33 +0000 (16:49 -0400)]
Entirely eliminate wd1x and wd2x members of the command block.

In the process, fix another case-smashing bug.

3 years agoCaptured output of help and info commands 203/head
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 18:54:27 +0000 (21:54 +0300)]
Captured output of help and info commands
Can't believe it wasn't done before

3 years agoUse DOWN rather thabnd D in YAML.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 18:55:34 +0000 (14:55 -0400)]
Use DOWN rather thabnd D in YAML.

3 years agoUse the raw buffer in tr command structure for editing.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 16:52:28 +0000 (12:52 -0400)]
Use the raw buffer in tr command structure for editing.

This fixes some minor bugs. Unknown words are no longer truncated
nor uppercased on echo.

3 years agoRemove a bad command from a check log.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 14:10:14 +0000 (10:10 -0400)]
Remove a bad command from a check log.

It's interfering with a refactor, and pathological cases really
ought to be checked elsewhere.

3 years agoRefactor tokenization to save raw tokens and use static buffer space...
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 12:53:10 +0000 (08:53 -0400)]
Refactor tokenization to save raw tokens and use static buffer space...

...rather than dynamic storage.

As a side effect, this seems to have fixed a very ninor bug in the processing
of the bare word 'nothing'.  But I don't know where the bug was.  Not happy.

3 years agoMagic-number elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 11:14:15 +0000 (07:14 -0400)]
Magic-number elimination.

3 years agoNamed state labels for every not clause.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 11:00:42 +0000 (07:00 -0400)]
Named state labels for every not clause.

3 years agoMake the YAML less fussy.
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 10:31:44 +0000 (06:31 -0400)]
Make the YAML less fussy.

Don't string-quote things that are semantically like enums.

3 years agoplayermove() never returns false; simplify accordingly
Eric S. Raymond [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 10:08:37 +0000 (06:08 -0400)]
playermove() never returns false; simplify accordingly

3 years agoVisit room with breathtaking view 201/head
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 04:30:53 +0000 (07:30 +0300)]
Visit room with breathtaking view
Try to extinguish a volcano
Closes #22

3 years agoBroke all logical or into multiline statement to show lcov's lies 200/head
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 04:20:37 +0000 (07:20 +0300)]
Broke all logical or into multiline statement to show lcov's lies
Results are weird, some things that need to be checked aren't and
at least my local lcov doesn't show them as unchecked

3 years agoUnspk'd bivalve action, exposing more untested surface 199/head
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 03:46:24 +0000 (06:46 +0300)]
Unspk'd bivalve action, exposing more untested surface

3 years agoUnspk'd fly command
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 03:29:02 +0000 (06:29 +0300)]
Unspk'd fly command

3 years agoUnspk'd listen and lock commands
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 03:21:38 +0000 (06:21 +0300)]
Unspk'd listen and lock commands

3 years agoUnspk'd pour command
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 03:12:19 +0000 (06:12 +0300)]
Unspk'd pour command

3 years agoUnspk and streamline eat command
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 03:07:57 +0000 (06:07 +0300)]
Unspk and streamline eat command

3 years agoRemoved helper function
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 02:59:57 +0000 (05:59 +0300)]
Removed helper function

3 years agoWake dwarves differently
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 02:41:49 +0000 (05:41 +0300)]
Wake dwarves differently

3 years agoCover branch last branch of bird action
NHOrus [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 02:30:46 +0000 (05:30 +0300)]
Cover branch last branch of bird action
And remove distracting line from tests

3 years agoCoverage -- attack bird after game closed 198/head
Aaron Traas [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 02:04:42 +0000 (22:04 -0400)]
Coverage -- attack bird after game closed

3 years agoRemove testing for intransitive seperate from NO_OBJECT in attact()
Aaron Traas [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 01:56:49 +0000 (21:56 -0400)]
Remove testing for intransitive seperate from NO_OBJECT in attact()

because we look for it immediately below, and this code is never
reached. If it were, intransitive attacks would never work.

3 years agoCoverage -- corner cases in lock and find
Aaron Traas [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 01:53:28 +0000 (21:53 -0400)]
Coverage -- corner cases in lock and find

3 years agoCoverage -- giant words
Aaron Traas [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 01:41:53 +0000 (21:41 -0400)]
Coverage -- giant words

3 years agoCoverage -- intransitive attack
Aaron Traas [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 01:32:47 +0000 (21:32 -0400)]
Coverage -- intransitive attack

3 years agoRemoved spk from wave, fixed compiler warning 197/head
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 22:01:01 +0000 (01:01 +0300)]
Removed spk from wave, fixed compiler warning

3 years agoUndid unspeaking of wave, fixed test again.
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 21:47:17 +0000 (00:47 +0300)]
Undid unspeaking of wave, fixed test again.
Changed property math to helper function.

3 years agoDon't spk in wave and action
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 21:04:44 +0000 (00:04 +0300)]
Don't spk in wave and action

3 years agoMore magic number elimination
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 19:57:12 +0000 (22:57 +0300)]
More magic number elimination

3 years agoUnfalsify coverage check
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 19:27:41 +0000 (22:27 +0300)]
Unfalsify coverage check

3 years agoMagic-number elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 19:32:50 +0000 (15:32 -0400)]
Magic-number elimination.

3 years agoMore tests, multilined yaml
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 19:13:14 +0000 (22:13 +0300)]
More tests, multilined yaml

3 years agoMagic-number elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 18:47:21 +0000 (14:47 -0400)]
Magic-number elimination.

3 years agoAttack content and dead bear 195/head
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 18:07:44 +0000 (21:07 +0300)]
Attack content and dead bear

3 years agoImprive coverage of cheat.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 17:57:01 +0000 (13:57 -0400)]
Imprive coverage of cheat.

3 years agoCoverage - attack sitting bear
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 17:31:47 +0000 (13:31 -0400)]
Coverage - attack sitting bear

3 years agoEliminate the global game.blklin. 194/head
Jason S. Ninneman [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 17:36:51 +0000 (10:36 -0700)]
Eliminate the global game.blklin.

3 years agoRationalize attack logic 192/head
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:41:57 +0000 (19:41 +0300)]
Rationalize attack logic
Fix the compiler warnings about bunching ands with ors

3 years agoMagic-number elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 17:22:50 +0000 (13:22 -0400)]
Magic-number elimination.

3 years agoBump save file version number. 191/head
Jason S. Ninneman [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:54:33 +0000 (09:54 -0700)]
Bump save file version number.

Also add missing space in the version mesage.

3 years agoTest coverage: intransitive lock
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:49:46 +0000 (12:49 -0400)]
Test coverage: intransitive lock

3 years agoEliminate unreachable code in lock()
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:49:29 +0000 (12:49 -0400)]
Eliminate unreachable code in lock()

3 years agoAdd capabilities to cheat. Expand testing to cover.
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:26:04 +0000 (12:26 -0400)]
Add capabilities to cheat. Expand testing to cover.

3 years agoMoved application settings to settings_t struct
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 06:46:04 +0000 (02:46 -0400)]
Moved application settings to settings_t struct

Since logfp, oldstyle, and prompt were application settings, rather than
have them all as global vars, move them to a single global var, seperate
from game state, as they aren't, technically, game state, but are
application settings.

3 years agoReplace datime() with just time(). 190/head
Jason S. Ninneman [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:42:07 +0000 (09:42 -0700)]
Replace datime() with just time().

Also make the 'savetime' value meaningful.

This removes a separate library dependency on some systems.

3 years agoChange VERSION_SKEW message - save file cersion is now...
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:39:56 +0000 (12:39 -0400)]
Change VERSION_SKEW message - save file cersion is now...

...decoupled from program version.

3 years agoDocumentation polishing.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 15:19:29 +0000 (11:19 -0400)]
Documentation polishing.

3 years agoDocumentation polishing.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 15:01:32 +0000 (11:01 -0400)]
Documentation polishing.

3 years agoBegin decomposing cond magic numbers.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 14:38:17 +0000 (10:38 -0400)]
Begin decomposing cond magic numbers.

3 years agoFixed logic, documented it in notes and tests 188/head
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 14:50:42 +0000 (17:50 +0300)]
Fixed logic, documented it in notes and tests

3 years agoFixed regression in #21 Cleaned up logic of light/extinguish
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 13:27:20 +0000 (16:27 +0300)]
Fixed regression in #21 Cleaned up logic of light/extinguish

3 years agoFix for issue #21, hopefully
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 13:08:57 +0000 (16:08 +0300)]
Fix for issue #21, hopefully

3 years agoreally capture it
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 08:36:29 +0000 (11:36 +0300)]
really capture it

3 years agoCapture current state of bugs, for #21
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 08:16:29 +0000 (11:16 +0300)]
Capture current state of bugs, for #21

3 years agoCapture wonkyness of extinguishing urn
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 07:50:07 +0000 (10:50 +0300)]
Capture wonkyness of extinguishing urn

3 years agomore tests
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 07:16:03 +0000 (10:16 +0300)]
more tests

3 years agoAbility to use non-standard FreeBSD gcov tool
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 06:49:18 +0000 (09:49 +0300)]
Ability to use non-standard FreeBSD gcov tool

3 years agoMake include of dependency platform-generic
NHOrus [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 06:28:18 +0000 (09:28 +0300)]
Make include of dependency platform-generic

3 years agoLocalize scope for restore file pointer in main. 186/head
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 06:28:58 +0000 (02:28 -0400)]
Localize scope for restore file pointer in main.

3 years agoCoverage -- version command
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 06:14:41 +0000 (02:14 -0400)]
Coverage -- version command

3 years agocentralize calls to make_zzword()
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 06:02:09 +0000 (02:02 -0400)]
centralize calls to make_zzword()

make_zzword() now called in set_seed(), because the only times it was
called in the entire application is after every invocation of set_seed().

3 years agoFixed -r option. Added test to make sure it doesn't break later.
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 05:36:28 +0000 (01:36 -0400)]
Fixed -r option. Added test to make sure it doesn't break later.

3 years agoChanged usage message to multi-line string for cheat
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 05:17:14 +0000 (01:17 -0400)]
Changed usage message to multi-line string for cheat

3 years agomake_zzword() moved to initialize. Pruned unused stuff from cheat.c
Aaron Traas [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 05:07:53 +0000 (01:07 -0400)]
make_zzword() moved to initialize. Pruned unused stuff from cheat.c

3 years agoImprove test coverage.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 03:51:24 +0000 (23:51 -0400)]
Improve test coverage.

3 years agoRewrite dwarf-encounter ceck so coverage testing sees all predicates.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 03:33:57 +0000 (23:33 -0400)]
Rewrite dwarf-encounter ceck so coverage testing sees all predicates.

3 years agoMore magic-number elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 03:07:23 +0000 (23:07 -0400)]
More magic-number elimination.

3 years agoMagic-number elimination.
Eric S. Raymond [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 02:50:08 +0000 (22:50 -0400)]
Magic-number elimination.

3 years agoFix typo in data comments
Wayne Conrad [Sat, 1 Jul 2017 21:25:29 +0000 (14:25 -0700)]
Fix typo in data comments

3 years agoFix typo in notes
Wayne Conrad [Sat, 1 Jul 2017 21:24:41 +0000 (14:24 -0700)]
Fix typo in notes

3 years agoSupply missing implementation of nodwarf bit in travel rules.
Eric S. Raymond [Sat, 1 Jul 2017 22:56:46 +0000 (18:56 -0400)]
Supply missing implementation of nodwarf bit in travel rules.

3 years agoAnother step in de-obscurifying the travel code.
Eric S. Raymond [Sat, 1 Jul 2017 18:20:34 +0000 (14:20 -0400)]
Another step in de-obscurifying the travel code.

3 years agoRefactor specials[] to have strings instead of enum references. 184/head
Jason S. Ninneman [Sat, 1 Jul 2017 18:53:54 +0000 (11:53 -0700)]
Refactor specials[] to have strings instead of enum references.

Clean up arbitrary_messages[] accordingly.